The Buffalo Sabres are currently a member of the Atlantic Division in the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League. They play at the First Niagara Center and are owned by Terry Pegula. Buffalo joined the NHL in the 1970-1971 season when the league expanded to 14 teams. Over the franchise's history, the Sabres have advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals twice (1974-75, 1998-99) but have yet to capture the Cup. Buffalo has compiled three conference championships (1974-75, 1979-80, 1998-99) and six divisional championships (1974-75, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1996-97, 2006-07, 2009-10) as well as the Presidents' Trophy in 2006-07, which is awarded to the team that finishes with the most points during the regular season. The French Connection Line of Gilbert Perreault, Rick Martin and Rene Robert is one of the most famous trios in NHL history. The Buffalo Sabres have retired seven numbers in the team's history (Gilbert Perreault (11), Rick Martin (7), Rene Robert (14), Tim Horton (2), Pat LaFontaine (16), Danny Gare (18) and Dominik Hasek (39).


The Rochester Americans are currently a member of the North Division in the Western Conference of the American Hockey League. They play at the Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial and are owned by Sabres' owner Terry Pegula. He purchased Rochester in 2011 and renewed its affiliation with the Buffalo Sabres. The two franchises began the affiliation prior to the 1979-80 season and it lasted until 2007-08. During the first tenure as a Sabres' affiliate the Americans won three Calder Cup championships (1983, 1987, 1996) and advanced to the Finals an additional six times. Overall, Rochester has won six Calder Cup championships (1965, 1966, 1968, 1983, 1987, 1996) with the first two coming as an affiliate of the Toronto Maple Leafs and the championship in 1968 with the Minnesota North Stars as the team's parent club. Rochester was first awarded a franchise in 1956 when the Pittsburgh Hornets were forced to suspend operations.